AD900 + Auzentech X-Fi Forte OR...

matthewh133

Distinguished
Jun 20, 2009
Hey guys, I'm about to take the plunge and purchase a new set of headphones for my PC. I am using my PC for aroun 40% Gaming, 40% Music and 20% Movies. I have been reading a lot of reviews and have found the AD900 + Auzentech X-Fi Forte to be, apparently, a phenomenal combination for what I am after?

Basically, I need great sound from my gaming, as I play FPS (CS:S). Positional awareness is very important, as is sound quality. I am studying audio engineering, so I also want a set-up that will help me listen to extremely high quality and responsive music.

I have narrowed down the choices to:

Sound Card:

Auzentech X-Fi Forte
OR
Asus Xonar Essence STX

Headphones:
Audio Technica ATH-AD900

What do you think is the best possible set-up I could go for here? I believe the AD900 + Auzentech X-Fi Forte may the way to go, with amazing gaming performance and a great music listening experience from the Forte, rather than the amazing music sound of the STX, but lackluster gaming performance.. but just getting some further opinions!

Thanks a lot for any advice/suggestions.

I have an Essence STX along with a pair of AKG K701's.
Sound great for movies and music.
It also works great for gaming with Dolby Headphone virtual 5.1 surround (7.1 is also supported but it does not sound as clear or accurate to me).
Perhaps not as clear as the dedicated 5.1 surround, but surprisingly accurate.
Good enough even that I now game exclusively with my cans.

Both are good cards and either will treat you fine.

matthewh133

Distinguished
Jun 20, 2009