July 4, 2010 4:41:58 PM

First of all, here are the parts

OCZ 700W PSU
ASUS LGA 1156 ATX Motherboard
A-DATA DDR 2x2 GB Ram
Samsung 1TB Hard Drive
XFX Radeon HD5850
Intel i5-750

When I try to boot, I get a 1 long beep and 3 short beeps from the speaker and a "DVI no signal" from the monitor screen when I try to get into the BIOS by mashing del. The LED at the bottom of the mobo is constantly on while the red led next to the MemOk! button is on, then turns off after a few seconds. This is with everything put together.

When I tried to breadboard, without the ram and video card, I get 1 long beep with 2 short beeps repeating.
With 1 ram stick, 1 long beep 3 short beeps. With the 2nd ram stick, 1 long beep 3 short beeps. With the video card, 1 long beep 3 short beeps. With the monitor connected, 1 long beep 3 short beeps, then 10 seconds afterward another short beep.

There is no beep code translation in the motherboard manual so I could not decipher the beeps.
This is my first time constructing a computer so I don't really know much.

More about : system boot

July 4, 2010 5:10:07 PM

Yes, mine is a 4 pin connector and it is plugged in. Every single cord is plugged in except for a 8 pin from the PSU but that cord is unnecessary because my cpu power cord is 4 pin.
m
l
Related resources
July 4, 2010 5:56:03 PM

when you boot, does bios load? If not try replacing your cmos battery. or reinstalling bios to an upgraded version.
m
l
July 4, 2010 6:00:54 PM

No, I can't get bios to load at all. And how would I go about reinstalling the bios or replacing the battery?
m
l
a b B Homebuilt system
July 4, 2010 6:39:55 PM

Orangered said:
No, I can't get bios to load at all. And how would I go about reinstalling the bios or replacing the battery?

The battery is a #2032 Lithium cell located on the motherboard. Take it out, and set aside for 5 minutes. This will reset the BIOS to factory default specs. - this might be a good time to replace the battery if required.