Does this HDD configuration make sense?

l3randonf

Distinguished
Aug 20, 2009
Would it be smart to have a small 50 gig SATA 7200 RPM drive just for the Windows 7 operating system....

and then 2 other HDD's, lets say.... 500 gigs a peice.... configured for Raid 0?

I'm thinking that I could have that one HDD just for windows in case I got a bunch of adware and viruses and crap somewhere down the line and I just wanted to nuke the HDD without losing all my games and music on the Raid 0 drives.

Is this logical thinking?

I'm a noob..so..I'm just speculating here....

I wouldnt put it on a small HDD, a 50GB drive is going to be very slow, the current high speed drives are using 500GB platters. If you want an OS drive i would suggest a small cheap SSD instead, it will be small, easily nukable if needed, and much faster than a HDD.

keytthom

Distinguished
Jan 10, 2010
its unlikely that you will find a very decent hdd that is 50gb, you are better branching out, and getting a ssd,, say 60gb as your boot drive, then a 500-1000gb drive for "data", this is safer than raid0. just an idea, its how mine are configured anyway and its super shpeeedie :D

l3randonf

Distinguished
Aug 20, 2009

Correct me if I am wrong here... Raid 1 is where one HDD makes a mirror copy of the other HDD right? It's basically like a constant backup being made all the time?

In Raid 1 do you see any performance and speed increases over running just one HDD?

Also, SSD's are faster than the fastest HDD's? Is there a reason, besides lower price, that someone would want a HDD over a SSD?

Why a 128 gig SDD when it is just for the operating system? Why won't a 40 gig SDD do?

Thanks for all clarification.

Timop

Distinguished

RAID 1 actually decreases performance somewhat, but theoretically halves the failure rate.

On SSDs, they are MUCH faster than HDDs, even the the new raptors cant touch a mid-range SSD. While a Sandforce based SSD would even blow enormous RAID0 arrays away.