Sign in with
Your question

Am I spending too much?

Last response: in Systems
July 5, 2010 12:17:33 AM

I've been using the same system for close to 7 years now and am looking to build a new one. I haven't built anything since I made this one, so I've forgotten more than I know.

I'm looking to build an AM3 machine for reasons of cost and upgradeability (it looks like AMD doesn't change chipsets very frequently, so this should last me a long time) and am largely aiming at value. Here's what I've priced out. All prices are from NewEgg.

Case: Antec Three Hundred Illusion - $60
PSU: Corsair HX Series CMPSU-750HX - $150 (-$10 rebate)
Motherboard - Gigabyte GA-870A-UD3 - $105 (-$30, combo with PSU)
CPU: AMD Phenom II X3 720 Black - $105 (not betting on extra cores)
Cooler: Scythe SCMG-2100 Sleeve CPU Cooler - $35
Thermal Paste: Arctic Cooling MX-2 Thermal Compound - free with cooler
GPU: XFX HD-577X-ZNFC (Radeon 5770) - $160
RAM: G.SKILL Ripjaws 4GB (2x2GB) 240-pin DDR3 1600 - $100
HDD: Seagate 750 GB - $70 (-$20, promo code)

In addition to the above:

OS: Windows 7 Home Premium 64-bit 1-pack for System Builders - $95 (-$10, combo with the GPU)
Optical: $22 (the "Featured" ASUS drive, but it hardly matters what I put here)
Mouse: Logitech G500 - $60 (-$20 combo with case)

All of this runs me $881 plus shipping. This doesn't include a monitor or keyboard; I figure I'll just pick up something at Fry's for the latter (wired, traditional non-ergo layout). For the monitor... I am considering getting a VGA adapter and continuing to use my old 19" CRT (I'm happy with it and it is in good shape). Does anyone have any experience with those? Or should I spend $220 on the ASUS VW246H (or SAMSUNG P2450H for same price with promo code)(what's the difference between them anyway?)?

I'm trying to cut corners wherever I can-- I only intend to use this system for gaming and largely to play Final Fantasy XIV when it comes out (which has Crysis specs). Am I spending wisely?

Edit: