Sign in with
Your question

1,150USD Build (First Build!)

Last response: in Systems
July 5, 2010 1:08:34 AM

I've been researching parts for about 4-5 months, and here's what i've decided on:

APPROXIMATE PURCHASE DATE: Either Tomorrow, or next week. 100% within the month.

SYSTEM USAGE FROM MOST TO LEAST IMPORTANT: Gaming

PARTS NOT REQUIRED: Monitor, Keyboard, Mouse

PREFERRED WEBSITE(S) FOR PARTS: Newegg (Only for Mobo, Ram, GPU, and CPU), Amazon, Tiger Direct, and ZipZoomFly

Newegg charges me TAX, so if you find a combo deal, most likely the money i would be save would just be spend in tax.

PARTS PREFERENCES: I've wanted water cooling since i was a kid, so a Corsiar H50 is kinda my dream piece of equipment.

OVERCLOCKING: Yes
SLI OR CROSSFIRE: Maybe..

MONITOR RESOLUTION: 1920x1080

ADDITIONAL COMMENTS:

So, my first build. The biggest problem right now is that I have my heart set on a few parts, and i'm not so willing to change to save money. But, i figured I would run everything by you guys first, Just in case.

Phenom X4 955

G.Skill 4GB DDR3 1333 (I was going to get the Ripjaw, but that set is on the compatibility list and as far as I know, they're like... The same thing.)

Gigabyte GA-790XTA-UD4

Cooler master Storm Scout

Corsair H50

Corsair 650TX or 750TX (See below)

Samsung Spinpoint F3 500GB

Some DVD Drive I have laying around

Windows 7 64bit OEM Edition

Ok, for the Graphics card i'm stuck between the 5850 and the 470. Keep your benchies to yourself, i've seen them all including the new ones from hardware cankus.

So, my biggest question is how long will the GTX 470 last me? Because i plan to build a new system after my Juinor Year of college, so this thing really only has to be future-resistant for about two years. Is it worth going with the weaker 5850, planning to crossfire in the next 2 years, or will the 470 hold me over just fine? I mean, it's a 300+ dollar card, so I would hope so...