Sign in with
Your question
Solved

The Best SSD's To RAID

Last response: in Storage
September 1, 2012 1:35:18 AM

I am wanting to setup a raid 0 with 2 or 4 SSD's. I have been trying to research which SSD's would be best to raid together without losing performance capabilities. I am fairly new to SSD's but i have done a bit of research on them and i currently have my operating system installed on one. I am using the 90GB Corsair Force Series GT. I do not want to go back to HDD's. I have read that seting up raid with SSD's will cause them to lose the TRIM capability? I am not sure if they have come up with new SSD's that can support TRIM and be able to RAID? If anyone can help me out i would appreciate it greatly. I am not to worried about price. I just want to do my research before spending the money. I am wanting to put either 120 GB or 240 GB SSD's. Also would it be better to setup the raid with a raid card or is my motherboard enough? Or will a raid card make it perform better and faster?

My Setup:
-ASUS Crosshair V Formula AM3+ AMD 990FX
-AMD FX-8150 Zambezi 3.6GHz Socket AM3+ 125W Eight-Core Desktop Processor
-CORSAIR Vengeance 16GB (4 x 4GB) 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM DDR3 1600 (PC3 12800)
-EVGA 01G-P3-1556-KR GeForce GTX 550 Ti (Fermi) FPB 1GB 192-bit GDDR5 PCI Express 2.0 x16 HDCP
-MASTER Hyper 212 EVO RR-212E-20PK-R2 Continuous Direct Contact 120mm Sleeve CPU Cooler
-Thermaltake SMART M Series SP-850M 850W ATX12V / EPS12V SLI Certified CrossFire Certified 80 PLUS BRONZE Certified Modular Active PFC Power Supply
-Antec DF-85 Black Steel / Plastic ATX Full Tower Computer Case

More about : ssd raid

a c 88 G Storage
September 1, 2012 1:43:50 AM

None. your chipset doesn't support TRIM when the SSDs are put in RAID. The only chipset that supports that right now is the Intel 7 series with the new 11.5 drivers.

Without TRIM support you will lose a great deal of write performance as the drives fill up
m
l
a b G Storage
September 1, 2012 1:52:50 AM