donutz0r

Distinguished
Jul 4, 2010
Hey guys! Long time lurker, first time poster.

This is going to be the very first system that I'm going to attempt to put together. I've never chosen all of the parts on my own in the past, so this has been a little bit of an adventure, to say the least. I've never had a "gaming" rig before and I'm looking to make one that will not only be sufficient enough to run most current games at maximum-quality, but to be somewhat future-proof as well. Also, I've never done SLI or Crossfire before, so I know virtually nothing about the topic besides a few things that I have read.

APPROXIMATE PURCHASE DATE: within the month BUDGET RANGE: [strike]$1000-$1200 before rebates[/strike] ~$1600 before rebates

SYSTEM USAGE FROM MOST TO LEAST IMPORTANT: Hardcore gaming, surfing the web, movies.

PARTS NOT REQUIRED: Keyboard, mouse, speakers, monitor, OS

PREFERRED WEBSITE(S) FOR PARTS: www.newegg.com COUNTRY OF ORIGIN: USA

PARTS PREFERENCES: I'm not devoted to either AMD or Intel. Looking for the best bang for the buck.

OVERCLOCKING: Yes SLI OR CROSSFIRE: [strike]Yes[/strike] Possibly in the future

MONITOR RESOLUTION: 1680 x 1050

ADDITIONAL COMMENTS: [strike]I have based the CPU and GPU decisions on the most recent hierarchy charts on this website located here and here.[/strike] As it turns out, I have more funs allocated towards this machine than I had previously anticipated, so I made a few changes based on the suggestions from the posters and on my expanded funding.

CPU - $194.99
Intel Core i5-750 Lynnfield 2.66GHz 8MB L3 Cache LGA 1156 95W Quad-Core Processor BX80605I5750

Graphics Card - $699.99
SAPPHIRE 100280SR Radeon HD 5970 (Hemlock) 2GB 512 (256 x 2)-bit GDDR5 PCI Express 2.1 x16 HDCP Ready CrossFireX Support Video Card

Memory - $104.99
G.SKILL ECO Series 4GB (2 x 2GB) 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM DDR3 1600 (PC3 12800) Desktop Memory Model F3-12800CL7D-4GBECO

Hard Drive - $59.99