Sign in with
Your question
Closed

Way in over my head

Last response: in Systems
July 5, 2010 7:06:01 PM

Well everyone Im brand new to the TH forums and I hope I like it as much as I believe I will! Ive been reading the forums all morning and especially the 'Buyers guide and trouble shooting" but Im so overwhelmed and I would really like the help/suggestions Im sure you will all provide.

I really want to build my own gaming computer (specifically for mmo's and sc2) but i have never done anything to a computer personally and I dont even know where to begin. I have been reading the step-to-step guide to building a PC by tecmo34 but I understand like every other word. He suggests building a custom PC because you can get a lot more bang for your buck by piecing it together yourself.

Before we even get into what I should buy my major concern so far is this..Im going to spend $800+ dollars on newegg or w/e ordering all these awesome parts and buying a computer case ect. but then Im going to unwrap everything and be completely lost..cables everywhere, a case with nothing but metal walls inside once I take the side panels off..a large powersupply unit (which will probally be the only thing I can install trouble free), and not knowing how to connect what to what and where to connect it!

For instance tecmo starts the build with installing your motherboard and says remove it from the box, simple enough. But then goes on to say •Place the motherboard in the case to line up where the standoffs need to be placed. and follows it with •Place the standoffs on the case in the locations matching up with your motherboard . I have no idea what either of those comments mean!

Im very eager to set up my own rig and I think it will be very fun, rewarding, and a great learning experience Im just scared that Im going to spend all this $ and not know what to do with the product!