Sign in with
Your question

Photoshop CS5 Graphics Card Recommendation

Last response: in Systems
July 5, 2010 8:06:49 PM

I am a seasoned builder. I am about to launch into a high-horsepower CS5 Photoshop workstation using Windows 7 Ultimate. I will be working with large files, stitching panoramas, HDR work, etc. I know CS5 needs and will use as many cores and memory as I have. I do not plan to overclock or use Xeon CPUs. The question is about the grahics card. There are a lot of opinions about this and I need some advice. Do I go with a gamer or workstation card? I have not found any documented information one way or another. Based on what I have read and the work I will be doing with large files the workstation card is the way to go.

For reference here is what I plan to use:

Case: COOLER MASTER Cosmos S (RC-1100-KKN1-GP)
Power Supply: ZALMAN ZM1000-HP
Motherboard: ASUS P6X58D Premium
CPU: INTEL Core™ i7-980X
Cooling Fan: NOCTUA NH-D14
Memory: KINGSTON 24GB (6 x 4GB) PC3-10600 DDR3 1333MHz CL9, Non-ECC
Graphics Card: PNY NVIDIA Quadro FX 3800
OS/Apps/Scratch - 2 each INTEL 80GB X25-M (RAID 0)
Storage - 2 each WESTERN DIGITAL 2TB RE4-GP (RAID 1)
DVD±R/RW: SONY AD-7241S (Don't need Blu-ray)
Card Reader: LIAN LI CR-25B
Wireless Adapter: LINKSYS WMP54G

More about : photoshop cs5 graphics card recommendation

July 5, 2010 9:52:35 PM

Am answering this for the fourth time today.. A quadro is not essential for Adobe apps.. The only point in getting a quadro would be CUDA (mostly marketing) and low power usage compared to their desktop counterparts..

Few other pointers regarding your build..

01. I'd add a hardware RAID card since onboard RAID solutions should never be relied on while making a workstation build..

02. Considering that you'll be working with very large files, the scratch disk size is very less..