Building a PC, Im New

Isaac Cisneros

Distinguished
Jul 4, 2010
What's up everyone, im new to tom'shardware ( I joined today ) Im 14 years old, and It has been like 4 months I started to get informed and very interested in both software and hardware.

Ok, the thing is ... that I want to build a computer ... I've never build a computer, but I've watched some videos on how to build them. I have a dinosaur computer, It's big, noisy and old.

I'ts a DELL Computer and I bought it like 6 years ago.

Intel(R) Celeron(R) CPU 2.40GHz L2 Cache 256KB

512MB RAM ( I don't know what kind RAM it is or if it is DDR1 or 2)

Plug n' Play Generic Monitor (CRT)

Radeon 9200 Series

I want to make a full upgrade, I was thinking about a AMD Phenom II X4 processor, i have read good reviews about it and its cheap in comparison to intel, AM3 motherboard, a 5850/5830 Radeon HD, 60GB SSD Reactor Corsair, and 4 or 6 gb of RAM.
I use computers for gaming, and i play games like Total war series and some counter strike source, i would like to paly games like Modern Warfare 2.

Im really limited with my computer, and I want a quite decent computer to handle those kind of games, and at a mid-low price.

Any help and suggestions would be GREATLY APRECCIATED, Im really interested in learning more about technology.

Thank You.

Isaac Cisneros

Distinguished
Jul 4, 2010

Thanks dogman, i think I didnt notice there was a systems category ... but now I know it.

Ok I will send the link to you.

Isaac Cisneros

Distinguished
Jul 4, 2010

Yeah ... those 24" monitors look great ... I will post this same thread to the systems category ... and I will send you the link, I dont want to bother people in the forum with this thread in the wrong place.

And thanks for those advices ... I hope you keep helping me on the other thread ... Thank you.

gerry410

Distinguished
Jun 17, 2010