Sign in with
Your question

Making my PC quieter

Last response: in Motherboards
April 6, 2011 10:07:42 PM

Hi guys

First of all, let me point out that I'm a real novice on this subject.

Would appreciate some help please from an expert.

My PC's motherboard came with software called Asus EPU-4 and I'd like to use it when I'm using my PC to stream TV over the web as the 'auto' mode in EPU-4 makes my PC a lot quieter and less intrusive.

My PC seems stable when EPU-4 is in auto mode, it doesn't reboot or shut down or do anything odd, but there's an annoyance.

When I put EPU-4 in to auto mode, my PC's internal beep keeps going beep-beep-beep-beep every few minutes or so. I believe it happens each time the load on the PC is changed and when the fan's are changing speed. I think it's some sort of warning that my fan is going too slowly. It's the exact beep-beep-beep-beep sound I have always heard when I first turn the computer on and the fan is speeding up.

Is my assumption correct? Or should I worry? How do I stop the beep-beep-beep-beep? Have looked in the BIOS and can't see a setting to change. Help needed please...

Many thanks, Terry

ASUS M4A79XTD EVO Mainboard - AMD 790X CrossFireX- AM3 Phenom™ II, DDR3 - ATX
8GB 1333MHz Dual Channel DDR3 SDRAM - ( 4x2GB )
Xtreme Performance Pack- Cool IT Domino CPU Advanced Liquid Cooler
AMD Phenom™ II X4 965 Black Quad Core Processor AM3 (3.40GHz, 8MB Cache)
Thermaltake Element 'S' Gaming Chassis + 950W PSU
2 x 1GB ATI Radeon HD5770 Graphics Accelerator
2TB (2x 1000GB) Serial ATA 2 Hard Drive with 32MB Buffer - Raid 1 Configuration (Mirror)

More about : making quieter

a b V Motherboard
April 6, 2011 11:48:02 PM

You may not like my solution, which is the quick and dirty method, but;
why don't you just pull the speaker connector from the MB?