Ultimate Computer... or maybe not.

G

I am looking to build my first computer. I have been a gamer for some time, and my brother has turned me to the computer building. I have done quite a bit of research online and feel that i have a pretty good understanding, but i would really hate to make a really bad decision. I will start with the similar products for both lists:
CASE:NZXT lexa s lexs
HDD: WD Caviar Black- 6gb/s, 1 TB,
7200 RPM
VIDEO CARD: Gigabyte 470
OPTICAL: LG Blu-ray burner
SSD: WD silicone blue 64gb

I am trying to decide between GA-x58A-UD3R vs. GA-P55A-UD3P for MB:
i7-930 vs. i7 860, respectively:
and then ram/psu to match.
I was looking at Mushkin 4gb "Enhanced Ridgeback" DDR3 2000 cl 7 and any psu really.

I am a university student, so i will have programs like matlab, CAD, and my wife really wants photoshop. you might be able to tell that it will be used for blu-ray movie watching. I plan to game on it a little bit also. i hope that that is enough info with out going overboard. i am a noobie, so any and all advice would be greatly appreciated. Thanks!

bliq

Distinguished
bluray movie watching isn't really that taxing. That GPU and CPU is more than enough. I noted my CPU was at about 5% with a E3300/GF9300 HTPC.

Processor and Motherboard choice probably comes down to how much you want to spend in this case- the x58/i930 will most likely be faster on paper, but you might not notice it. I have an i860 and it's plenty fast.

Spend the money on a decent PSU. it's worth it and you'll have a fair amount of draw with a system like what you're building. Plus that 470 is going to need a lot of power.

G

Purchase date: 1-2 months
Usage: School work ( CAD and matlab), movies, gaming, music, general browsing.
Parts: All new components
Store: Newegg, no real preference though.
Country of origin: US
Brand: no preference
Overclocking: maybe in the future, but not right now
SLI: i hope i dont have to with the 470, so no.

banthracis

Distinguished
Budget?