Mixed Use CPU - Intel vs AMD

goldglovecb

Distinguished
Sep 4, 2010
A quick note - I'm not a hardware novice, but I don't keep up with the latest greatest. I do a lot of web development and could use some advice on CPU/Mobo/RAM combos and the best bang for my buck in creating an interesting development environment. Especially since I'm getting into some video work. I've decided to try to explain how I want to use my new system & am hoping for some general guidance.

I'm currently looking to build a new system, preferably one I can virtualize some test machines on. I'd like to try my hand with VMWare ESX. Anyhow, I try to mirror parts of my data center when I develop. One day I may need an Ubuntu server running an web application server like Railo (ColdFusion) and other days I may need a CentOS system for working with Asterisk VoIP. Point: I need some flexibility. The web servers I use aren't just hosting static content. There is a lot going on (dynamic code processing, caching servers, etc).

My OS of choice for coding is Windows (and because I'll be hooked into an AD environment). I run a lot of Java based tools like Eclipse and Flash Builder, as well as tools like PGAdmin and MySQL Workbench. However; what I'm most concerned with is the new video work I'll be doing with Adobe Premiere. I won't be generating massive movies or anything, but I will be putting together video tutorials and some simple commercials.

Here's the kicker, I'm trying to do all of this on one machine. Not all of it at the same time, but I will always have at least two virtual machines active simultaneously on the same hardware. I'm looking for a CPU that can keep up. Most of the server side apps I develop perform better with more RAM, but I understand video processing is pretty CPU intensive. So, I'm not sure whether an Intel or AMD base is the way to go. On a side note, there will be absolutely no video games running. I don't have time for 'em.