Sign in with
Your question

Dual-HD PCs

Last response: in Systems
July 7, 2010 9:26:16 PM

Is it true that there are no dual-HD PCs on the market? I been told that my only option is to either special order from factory, or go to a custom-build shop. Can any one confirm or refute?

More about : dual pcs

July 7, 2010 9:29:07 PM

What do you mean by dual-HD? Two hard drives? In RAID?
m
l
July 8, 2010 11:25:34 PM

Proximon said:
What do you mean by dual-HD? Two hard drives? In RAID?

Exactly! Two regular internal hard disk drives, or one regular HD and one removable (Frame/Carrier-based) hard drive. Sorry, I've no idea what RAID is
(hardware books I'm studying don't seem current enough to mention it), but I suspect its something I don't need.
m
l
Related resources
July 8, 2010 11:35:31 PM

You most certainly can have 2 hard drives in a PC, although most pre-built PCs(Dell, HP etc) don't come with them. But you can install one yourself. Or consider an external Hard Drive.
m
l
July 8, 2010 11:49:55 PM

cmcghee358 said:
You most certainly can have 2 hard drives in a PC, although most pre-built PCs(Dell, HP etc) don't come with them. But you can install one yourself. Or consider an external Hard Drive.

When you say "most" don't come with them, does this mean you know of any brands/model numbers of pre-builts that do have dual-HDD ready to go? I know I can get this on special order from factory or from custom-build shop, but the question is....is there a "pre-built" option? Google/Yahoo search only yielded workstations with dual-HD.
m
l
July 9, 2010 12:00:33 AM

Well by saying most, I meant I had never seen one. So most likely you won't be able to find it. But installing a 2nd hard drive isn't too difficult. It's 2 connectors and like 4 screws to hold it in.