New AM3 build, but board is still undecided

Hi guys I'm starting a new build very soon and it is my first build so I kinda need some help. I was planning on buying the ASUS M4A89GTD PRO/USB3 with a Phenom II 955BE and a 2GBx2GB set of Mushkin 996826. I am a like shaky on the board as I have read that it only supports dedicated gpus with less than 1200 shader units. Can some confirm that this true/false? Thanks.
21 answers Last reply Best Answer
More about build board undecided
  1. ^ From where did you get that info ??
  2. Best answer
    It's definately false, and that is a really nice board that will support Xfire at 8x/8x.

In fact the specs you have listed are very good, you won't be disappointed.
  3. Thanks, let's hope I put it to good use. I plan to use an Nvidia card in it, maybe the GTX 460 if it's good when it cones out. I don't like how much hastle ATI drivers take, and when I've uses them they're very sketchy with stability, but that was probably a different issue. There's one other problem, thought. This board has the 4+4 pin CPU power plug on it, and my PSU only has one of these. I'll be fine, right?
  4. I also heard the 1200 shader units thing on the Neweggcustomer review page. I was pretty sure that it wasn't correct, as a lot of people don't have their facts straight on the customer reviews page.
  5. If your PSU only has a 4 pin power connector for the CPU yes it's going to be a problem. The 955 requires a 4+4 or 8 pin
  6. Well my psu is the coolermaster extreme power duo 650w, and it says: 4 pin x 1 CPU+12V Connector. The mobo specs list the port Is 1 x 8-pin ATX 12V Power connector, but 4 pins are covered by a place protector plate, and four are not. I thought that this may still be compatible. Guess not?
  7. It depends on the wattage of the CPU, as this power wire is specifically for the CPU power. Under 95W can handle just a 4 pin, but your is 125W and needs 8 pins.

Buy one of these :)