Sign in with
Your question
Closed

Phenom II X6 1090T CPU running too hot, not overclocked (yet)

Tags:
Last response: in CPUs
September 5, 2010 3:05:19 PM

Hello all,

I am a noob with a lot of this stuff, so please forgive my ignorance.

I just put together a box with all the components as I like to run as a server to host my website. Prior to redirecting the DNS to point to my server, it ran for at least 5 days with apparently no problems. Sorry, I did not check any temps during this time. Since moving the website to the server, my CPU is always running too hot and it shuts itself down after a few hours. That is the only change I can think of. Since then I have added one small case fan with no change. My site is still showing as "under construction", but gets some traffic to live content driven by php and a large MySQL database. I get a few hundred page views a day. This morning, I booted fresh after being off all night and within a few minute the CPU was close to 60 C (likely no web traffic in that time).

The box sits in a corner of my living room and I don't think anything is obstructed. How can I bring my temps down?

Here are my components:

Case: Cooler Master Elite 310
Motherboard: GIGABYTE GA-890GPA-UD3H
Processor: AMD Phenom II X6 Six-Core Processor 1090T (3.2GHz) AM3, Retail (Black Edition)
Thermal Compound: Diamond seven carat diamond extreme performance (*this was my first time apply thermal compound myself*)
Note: I have some Arctic Silver Ceramique thermal compound that I was given after assembly that I could use if it is better.
CPU Fan: ARCTIC COOLING Freezer 7 Pro Rev.2 92mm CPU Fan For Intel & AMD CPU
RAM: Super Talent DDR3-1600 4GB(2X2G) CL9 Dual Channel Memory kit
Hard Drives: 4 x Seagate Barracuda 7200.12 ST3750528AS 750GB 7200 RPM 32MB Cache SATA 3.0Gb/s 3.5" RAID 5 configuration
Power Supply: Cooler Master RS600-PCARE3-US eXtreme Power 600W ATX12V SLI Power Supply
Optical Drive: Samsung SH-S223C/BEBE 22X SATA DVD+/-RW Internal Drive (Black)