Intel Core i5 vs. Core i7

Status
Not open for further replies.

FunnyLookinHat_

Distinguished
Sep 5, 2010
Hey Everyone,
So I'm a developer who has a bit of a gaming habit (i.e. Starcraft 2) - and I'm completely fed up with my Macbook Pro. I purchased this guy about a year ago with a Core 2 Duo CPU (2.26 Ghz) and it's either Mac OS or the CPU - but I'm pretty much done with it. I can barely use the multiple IDEs I need day in and day out - and it heats up like nobody's business when I try to play Starcraft 2 on the lowest settings.

ALL OF THAT BEING SAID -

I'm making the switch back to Linux (and dual boot Windows for gaming). I know what I'm doing when it comes to getting just about any device working under Linux, so that isn't an issue. But what I really need to know is whether or not I'll be disappointed with Core i5 450M (2.40 Ghz), vs. a Core i7 720QM (1.60 Ghz), vs. a Core i7 620M (2.66 Ghz).

Right now if I had to pick between the 450M and 720QM I'd go with the 720QM hands down. For an extra $100 I get 4 real cores which makes sense considering all of the applications I have running for development work, etc. However, I was perusing Apple's site (mostly because I get pleasure out of buying their same system specs for much cheaper when not in apple's case) and noticed that their Core i7 CPUs are actually the 620M - not the 720QM. I spec'd out pricing on a 620M system and it would add about $400-$500 to the cost of the entire machine.

Given all of that - am I going to be disappointed with a 720QM system? Or will the built-in overclock take care of any issues there? Because these are all in laptops, I completely understand that 2.66 Ghz isn't likely to be realized if everything starts overheating, so is that another issue to take into account?

I guess my real question is this - is it worth the extra $500 to get the 620M?

P.S. - Why in the world is the 620M MORE expensive than the seemingly later-released 720QM ?

Solution

Timop

Distinguished