$1400-1800 multitasking/engineering computer Urgent

amreiss

Distinguished
Jul 6, 2010
I need to pull the trigger on this desktop within the next few days.
Importance from most to least: Multitasking(having multiple windows up at once, internet/itunes/skype. etc. Next: Autocad and 3D rendering, Programming. I do not game. i could care less about how good of a gaming computer i have.

Currently i dont plan to OC because i am not experienced enough to trust myself with it

my current build

Motherboard: Gigabyte Ga-x58A-UD3R

Processor: Intel Core i7-930. I am debating between the 930 and the i7-860 since i hear it is better when in superspeed.

Memory: 6GB DDR3 1600mhz triple channel. SHould i be getting more RAM? also is the 1600mhz worth it? should i get 1800?

Graphics: need suggestions? i was thinking Radeon 5850 or GTX 470 but then i started reading about a Quadro which is supposedly better for autocad.

Hard Drive: Samsong Spinpoint F3. Or i hear the Velociraptors are very good. i think a SSD drive will help me since i care most about how fast my apps load up. i was thinking a 30 GB SSD Drive.

Case: Antec 900? or something cheaper i dont care much

Power: What do you reccomend for voltage i was currently thinking Silverstone Da 750W or a thermaltake 750 Watt

CPU cooler: Prolimatech Megaharems Rev. B? or should i go with liquid cooling

CPU Fan: Scythe Slipstream SY 1225SL...

Optical: i dont care anything cheap.

I would appreciate any advice/critic you guys have. thank you so much for your help.

Is it complicated putting all these components together myself and adding the thermal compound etc and buying from Newegg or should i just use a website like ibuypower,buyxg,cyberpower?

lowriderflow

Distinguished
Gigabyte mobo's are great... so stick with that. I'd vote for the 930 CPU. 6gb triple channel is fine... and 1600 is fine b/c the bottle neck will not be at the RAM. You only need faster if you plan to do some BIG overclocking... so you're ok on RAM.