Your question

Create System Image Failed - Not enough disk space

Tags:
  • Hard Drives
  • Disk Space
  • Storage
Last response: in Storage
September 6, 2012 5:16:19 AM

Nearly finished building my computer and I'm trying to create a system image on my 1 TB HDD. The drive is brand new and bare, so I don't understand why Windows won't create the image on the drive. Also, the drive isn't listed in the BIOS, just my SSD drive, from which I boot Windows. This is my first build and pretty much the last step to complete the build. Any ideas? Thanks.

More about : create system image failed disk space

a c 191 G Storage
September 6, 2012 12:41:19 PM

Have you tried checking the data and power connections for the 1TB drive? Does the drive show up anywhere on the system (Device Manager, under Storage in Computer Management)?
m
l
a c 427 G Storage
September 6, 2012 1:04:49 PM

Are you trying to clone the drive or make an image of it? If you are just backing up (creating an image file), then the new (1TB) drive has to be partitioned and formattted first.
m
l
Related resources
September 6, 2012 6:34:32 PM

Thanks for the reply. I've disconnected and reconnected the data cable for 1 TB drive. The drive initially didn't show up under "my computer" so I had to go under "disk management" to create the new drive.
m
l
September 6, 2012 6:40:07 PM

I'm trying to make an image of it. The drive has been formatted and according to "disk management" the drive is "Active, Primary Partition".
m
l
a c 427 G Storage
September 6, 2012 8:18:00 PM

zbulmer said:
The drive initially didn't show up under "my computer" so I had to go under "disk management" to create the new drive.

This is what I was getting at and why I said it may have needed partitioned and formatted first. This is what you did by using disk management.
m
l
a c 427 G Storage
September 6, 2012 8:28:20 PM