Faulty GPU, but how do i prove it?

bennieboi101

Distinguished
Nov 4, 2009
Hey guys

I have a problem on my hands. For some time now my gigabyte HD 4890 graphics card has has some issues. One of them is anytime i open a 3D intensive game like Starcraft 2, COD4, World of Warcraft, Grid the capacitors will scream their heads off to no end. Now this doesn’t effect performance as far as i can tell as running 3D mark through it is fine and scores as it should, but is mighty annoying and shouldn’t be doing that. Just today i got my first blue screen of death saying physical mem dump and windows will no longer start-up now in normal or safe mode, I’m a computer techy by trade and i know an error like that is either GPU or RAM. Memtest says my memory is fine so it’s not that and quicktech says that the key points of the mobo is also ok.

What i need to know is what can i run through my graphics card to see that it is faulty? Im 90% sure that the GPU is the problem but i don’t want to go and send it to gigabyte only to have them slug me a no fault found fee cause i was too stupid to realise the problem is elsewhere as i know sometimes u can’t see the problem for looking.

So basically what I’m after is some form of boot CD that i can check my graphics card with or evey something i can run through it to 100% kill it so i can send it to gigabyte as it is still under warranty.

Any ideas fellaz?

Solution
Try to RMA, that is the best simple solution. All you will have to do is contact customer service and they will make a support ticket when you move up to level 2 on up. At some point they will agree to test your card and when you send it it and arrives if the card fails their quality test for functionality they will send a replacement. If they do not have an exact copy to send you they will send a like performance or better card. Time to do this is usually 2 weeks plus.