Advice for the new guy - building a new PC

troublez

Distinguished
Jul 10, 2010
This is my second build my first being about 4 years ago and I really didn't know what I was doing then. I have done a lot more research this time and have a decent idea of what I want but I know you guys are a lot more experienced then me so any help would be appreciated.

APPROXIMATE PURCHASE DATE: I plan to purchase gathering the parts over the next 3 weeks.

BUDGET RANGE: kind of open building slowly

SYSTEM USAGE FROM MOST TO LEAST IMPORTANT: Gaming (blizzard stuff mostly) Media (musis, movies) and a strong ability to multitask. (example: WoW, Itunes, Fraps, Firefox, and other crap all running at the same time.)

PARTS NOT REQUIRED: Keyboard, mouse, monitor, speakers, CD drives, Case, OS, heat sink, cd/dvd burner/writer (Possibly HDD and GPU for now)

PREFERRED WEBSITE(S) FOR PARTS: Newegg

COUNTRY OF ORIGIN: U.S.

PARTS PREFERENCES: AMD, ASUS Motherboard

OVERCLOCKING: Yes I am new to over clocking but interested for sure

SLI OR CROSSFIRE: interested in crossfiring in the future

MONITOR RESOLUTION: I have a 22 inch wide screen dell but I am not sure of it's resolution.

ADDITIONAL COMMENTS: I have some parts left over from my old computer that may transfer over. I also already have windows 7 64 bit Home. I don't have tons of money but that is why I am slowly buying the parts one by one. I am open to suggestions.

My main concerns are:
My old computer parts
any bottle necks
keeping the cost down but room for future upgrades
wanting to eventually go to SSD for my OS

-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Case: Antec Nine Hundred SE
Note: I already have this case brand new in the box. The only difference is mine is an SE which just means it's silver :p

Motherboad: ASUS M4A89TD PRO/USB3 AM3 AMD 890FX