Sign in with
Your question

What is the best cpu I can use?

Last response: in CPUs
September 8, 2010 3:56:12 AM

Hey guys, I am looking for the best possible processor I can throw in this machine, I am new to computers so I will copy my Belarc info.

-----------------------------------------------------------------
System Model:
Dell Inc. Inspiron 546S
System Service Tag: 89PCCK1 (support for this PC)
Chassis Serial Number: 89PCCK1
Enclosure Type:Slim Desktop
Processor:
2.10 gigahertz AMD Phenom 8450e Triple-Core
384 kilobyte primary memory cache
1536 kilobyte secondary memory cache
2048 kilobyte tertiary memory cache
64-bit ready
Multi-core (3 total)
Not hyper-threaded
Main Circuit Board:
Board: Dell Inc. 0F896N A02
Serial Number: ..CN7360495G00UK.
Bus Clock: 200 megahertz
BIOS: Dell Inc. A11 01/19/2010
It would also be helpful to find the best of the best memory for this as well and how much the board can support.

Thanks guys.

More about : cpu

a b à CPUs
September 8, 2010 4:08:30 AM

heres the deal with dell pcs. They use a propritary motherboard that has many of its features locked/disabled. Most likely you will not be able to change out the processor and have it work right. Right now what you have in there is not that bad. a tri core chip is good for multitasking. it should be able to handle everything that you can throw at it. So all in all I saw stick to the cpu have in there
m
l
September 8, 2010 4:13:57 AM

I am just looking to improve performance on World of Warcraft and my weakest link right now is my Gefore 210 512 64 bit video card, I am soon upgrading to a 5750 and a 300W PSU and the system harbors 8 gigs of ram, you think I can run starcraft 2 on ultra with 30+ fps?
m
l
Related resources
a c 105 à CPUs
a b } Memory
September 8, 2010 4:20:25 AM

both WoW and SC2 use only two cores so basically you are using a dual core @2.1ghz....plus the phenom was not a good CPU even when it was new to the market a few years back.
m
l
a b à CPUs
a b } Memory