Complete HTPC - Need Ideas & Advice

girlfriday

Distinguished
Jul 10, 2010
Hello,
I'm planning on doing building my own HTPC. I am a total novice with no techie experience.
It'll be a challenge but I ready to learn and do it.
So here goes:

APPROXIMATE PURCHASE DATE: Jul - Aug 2010

BUDGET RANGE: $1500 - $3000

SYSTEM USAGE FROM MOST TO LEAST IMPORTANT:
Listen to Music - CD / MP3 / Pandora / Etc
Watch Blu-ray / DVD / Movie d/loads & Live Streams via internet
Watch TV [OTA Antenna only]
DVR
Burn CD / DVD
Connect Camcorder & Camera
Store Pic / Camrec / Movie
Surf the web
Connect to my home network wirelessly
Wireless Keyboard/Mouse
Remote

PARTS NOT REQUIRED:
TV [Sony 40" LED]
Speakers [Energy 5.1 Mini]

PREFERRED WEBSITE(S) FOR PARTS: Newegg

COUNTRY OF ORIGIN: USA

PARTS PREFERENCES: Intel

OVERCLOCKING: Maybe [Don't know what this is]

SLI OR CROSSFIRE: Maybe [Don't know what this is]

MONITOR RESOLUTION: 1920x1080 - I think that's what the TV is.

ADDITIONAL COMMENTS:
Quiet PC / Attractive Case / Need great audio output with or without a A/V Rec.

Thanks, looking forward to some great ideas.

Hmm at 1st glance : your budget is way too high and if looking for silent you'd want to either run GPUs with passive cooling or with advancement in IGP capability consider the most current IGP chipsets ^^ These would do fine for HTPC duty and seeing gaming is not on the table for your needs? 1394/Firewire would be handy in your case

ryeaman

Distinguished
Jul 12, 2010
I agree w/ another poster...your budget is way too high...I just finished building an HTPC and attached it thru my new ONKYO receiver.....I connected the PC video thru HDMI, but the audio thru an optical cable...I probably could have used HDMI for the audio too, but had some driver problems I just didn't want to work thru. I used a lot of parts that I had handy or left over from previous builds, but I spent less than $700 on everything (if i had purchased it all new).

Just a few thoughts...