Home version of On Live possible?

Swooshticles

Distinguished
Apr 9, 2010
I'm new to building computers and just wondering if it would be possible for me to build a mega computer that could distribute games across a network of cheap pc's with no graphics cards. Having all the graphics being rendered on the mega computer? Just like what On Live is doing, but on a small scale.

It would be a small network with one main computer or server, and four cheap pc's.

If it is possible, can anybody recommend how to go about this? How many graphics cards would be needed? etc.

well, the first thing you have to do is either find a program that works like OnLive or create one (either yourself, read very hard, or if you have someone that can program to do it, read still very hard)

the server would possible need a GPU for each client attached, and at least 2 cores per client (assuming you want to game with decent settings)

so 4 clients would be 4 decent GPUS roughly ATI 5770 in power or 2 dual gpu cards like the 5970, and for cpu's looking at 2 Xeons, preferably the 4 core 56xx series for 8 cores (16 threads, remember the HT threads don't add much in terms of performance)

though if you can't get a program or create one, there is no point to this in the first place

banthracis

Distinguished
You forgot another huge issue, bandwidth.

On live requires 4mbps down to send 1280x1024 stream.

That means, for each computer connected, you'll need a ISP giving you 4mbps UP, much more if you plan on higher resolution.

You also can't use a "up to" x mbps service like FIOS, you need guaranteed upload capacity, so you'll need a dedicated line, which cost's hundreds a month.

well he is doing this on a local network, so even 100mbps would work, though 1gpbs would be better (as most computers have it, just get a switch)

banthracis

Distinguished