Sign in with
Your question

Advice on a ~$1500 gaming / general use build

Last response: in Systems
July 12, 2010 7:28:05 PM

As per the topic, I've been researching a new computer recently and have compiled my research in a google document published here, complete with my analysis and links.

I'm totally new to building my own system, and this project has been a learning experience. In particular, I'm looking for advice on what mobo to invest in, whether my PSU is sufficient, whether I've missed anything, etc. etc.

For convenience, I've copy/pasted a simplified summary:

Priorities
• Multitasking: I use tons of tabs and regularly have multiple programs running (I don't do any video editing or encoding, though).
• Reasonably future proof: I'd like to be able to upgrade in the future without having to replace too many core parts (i.e., mobo or processor). I don't mind upgrading other parts.
• Must be quiet.
• Must be reliable and stable.
• I'm looking for a responsive system that doesn't have any bottlenecks.
• I want to do some gaming, but I don't necessarily need to run next-gen games at the highest settings (I do want to be able to play them smoothly at lower settings, though).
• Resolution: 1920 x 1080
• I don't intend to overclock. I am willing to underclock if it helps keep noise below a reasonable level and doesn't bottleneck performance.
• Budget: ~$1500 (less than $2000, tops)

Case
NZXT Whisper - $120

Mobo
?

CPU
AMD Phenom II X6 1055T Thuban ($200)

GPU
Sapphire Vapor-X Radeon HD 5770 - $195

RAM
G.SKILL Ripjaws Series 4GB (2 x 2GB) 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM DDR3 - $100

HDD/SSD
Intel X25-M 80GB - $220
Western Digital Caviar Black 1TB x2 in software raid 1 - $100x2 = $200

DVD Drive
LITE-ON DVD Burner - $24

PSU
Corsair HX CMPSU 750W OR 850W

Sound Card?

Monitor
Sceptre X270W HDMI 27" Widescreen - $310

Keyboard
Rosewill RK-7300 Black, $15

OS
Windows 7 Professional 64 bit OEM - $140

Total $ so far = $1404
a b B Homebuilt system
July 12, 2010 11:28:03 PM