Sign in with
Your question
Solved

Is a home built system worth the effort?

Last response: in Systems
July 13, 2010 5:04:10 AM

Hi Everyone,

I have been building systems on and off for about the last 15 years or so. I originally started doing it for my own systems in order to save money (by buying at 'cost' from wholesalers). I also found that I could make a little bit of money as well which was great.

I am noticing lately that it is hard to compete. With aggressive pricing at places like Best Buy, Tigert Direct, Futureshop, Canada Computers (the last two are Canadian retailers), it is almost impossible to sell someone a system as it is quite difficult to get close to their prices and make a profit. It just seems like it is not worth it anymore.

I have decided to build myself a new system. Here is what I was looking to build:

CPU: Intel Core i5 750
CPU Heatsink: CM Hyper TX 3 (I never feel safe using the stock heatsinks supplied by Intel)
Motherboard: MSI P55 CD53
RAM: OCZ DDR3 1333 MHz Gold Edition (2 x 2GB)
Video Card: Sapphire Radeon HD 5670 (512MB DDR5)
Hard Drive: Hitachi Deskstar 1TB SATA II 32MB Cache
Case: Antec Sonata III
PSU: Antec EarthWatts (500 watts)
Burner: Sony AD-7240S-OB SATA
Additional Case Fan: Zalman ZM-F3 (120mm)
Card Reader: Vantec Internal 58 in 1 Card Reader

This is hardly a kick ass system. I'm sure it will serve me fine (I'm not a hardcore gamer, just a web application developer who uses EditPlus, SQLYog, and some Photoshop). My cost on the above comes out to about $769 (tax not included).

Note that the price above does not include the OS. I figure it will be about another $100 at least for the most minimum Windows 7 version.

Now, I went to the futureshop website and did a search on 'i5 750' and I find this:

http://www.futureshop.ca/en-CA/product/gateway-gateway-...

(I hope the above link comes out okay in my post)

This system costs a little more ($950) but comes with 8GB Ram, the OS of course, a 1GB video card, etc etc.