Imminent ATI GPU Price Drop

lostnomad311

Distinguished
Jun 3, 2010
Is there any reason to believe the price of ATI's HD 58xx line to drop by the end of July (SC2 release)?

I am ready to pick up a GPU but since it will have been about 10 months since the release of the 5850, I'm thinking (hoping) a price drop might be around the corner.

Well Nvidia is going to release the 465 which is a even more crippled 480 chip based card with comparable performance to the mid level 58xx cards but their pricing for it will probably not help bring any competition to the ATI 58xx line to make them lower the pricing of them at all so I doubt there will be any movement on the prices for awhile !!

lol, I've been hoping that for the last 4 months....Certainly not in europe as the prices are ridiculous, I live in the UK where the GTX465 is £20 more than a HD5850, a GTX470 is just £20 less than a HD5870 and the GTX480 is £90 more than a HD5870, So in other words there's little competition and therefore no pressure for ATi to drop their prices.
This is insane though a HD5850's MSRP is £200, yet 9 months after release and its at least £25 more, the price should have gone down by now, not up!. :/

But like I said, no pressure from nVidia = no ATi price drop.

lostnomad311

Distinguished
Jun 3, 2010
:eek:

Thats my happy/sad face

Happy cause I'm proly gonna go get my PSU today

Sad cause I was hoping for that drop
...Also cause I'm thinking my SC2 addiction's gonna set in with the beta after this upgrade

Thanks for the inputs!

Sort of agree with you there. As much as i wanted one, when i weighed it up the 5770 which is where I'm looking, just isn't value for money. I don't care for what else it has as i have 1 monitor.
Its easy to say sod it and pay the extra over the price i think it should be, but when I'm not having any issues i cant justify the expense.