Solved

$1200 Multitasking and Moderate Gaming Build Advice for

Tags:
  • New Build
  • Systems
  • Product
Last response: in Systems
July 13, 2010 1:30:02 PM

Hey everyone, I've stumbled on TH and found it a great resource for tech needs, especially for computer builds. And I wanna ask you guys for opinions and advice. I've been using computers for over 15 years and always tried to stay current on trends but I've slipped off the past year so I don't know what is the best set ups or whatnots.

Anyway, without further ado.

APPROXIMATE PURCHASE DATE: Within next 2 weeks.

SYSTEM USAGE FROM MOST TO LEAST IMPORTANT: Multi-tasking (Adobe) and internet/email, moderate gaming on nice settings.

PARTS NOT REQUIRED:

PREFERRED WEBSITE(S) FOR PARTS: Any but be great if I can order the whole thing on one site for lowest price.

PARTS PREFERENCES: None, whatever works best together as a whole.

OVERCLOCKING: Yes - moderately to possibly high OR CROSSFIRE: Yes, down the line sometime, maybe a year?

MONITOR RESOLUTION: 1920x1080 or 1920x1200

ADDITIONAL COMMENTS: Best build for my needs of multi-tasking in resource-heavy Adobe and Microsoft apps for around $1200

Here's what I have so far, after a week of researching the best parts to fit my budget of $1200.

CPU: I5-750

Mobo: ASUS P7P55D-E LX LGA 1156 Intel P55 SATA 6Gb/s USB 3.0 ATX Intel Motherboard

GPU: XFX HD-585X-ZNFC Radeon HD 5850 1GB 256-bit DDR5 PCI Express 2.1 x16 HDCP Ready CrossFireX Support Video Card w/ Eyefinity

Ram: G.SKILL Ripjaws Series 4GB (2 x 2GB) 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM DDR3 1600 (PC3 12800) Desktop Memory Model F3-12800CL7D-4GBRM

PSU: BFG Tech GS-550 550W ATX12V V2.2 / EPS12V V2.8 SLI Ready CrossFire Ready Power Supply

Case: Rosewill DESTROYER Black Gaming ATX Mid Tower Computer Case ,comes with Three Fans-1x Front Blue LED 120mm Fan, 1x Top 120mm ...

HDD: SAMSUNG Spinpoint F3 HD103SJ 1TB 7200 RPM SATA 3.0Gb/s 3.5" Internal Hard Drive -Bare Drive