WTF: 720QM Defeats 620M in Single-Threaded App?

Track

Distinguished
Jul 4, 2006
I'm looking to buy an i7 720QM or i7 620M.

I was looking at the benchmarks on the site:
http://www.notebookcheck.net/Mobile-Processors-Benchmarklist.2436.0.html

And I was shocked.
If you take a look at the Cinabench Single-Threaded benchmark, the 2.66Ghz 620M gets about the same score as the 1.73Ghz 820QM.

I mean even in Multi-Threaded apps, 5.32Ghz should not be so far behind 6.92Ghz. But in Single-Thread?

WTF!

The reason I'm thinking of buying the 620M is because overclocking it to 3.06Ghz x 2 = 6.12Ghz, where as the i7 720QM for around the same price would gain me just around 7.02Ghz, and battery life would be abysmal.

I need the performance because I'm a photographer and I render together 20-80 Gigapixel images.
But at the same time, I'm going to be using the laptop for gaming while on the road, where 3.06Ghz will definitely defeat 1.8Ghz, since most games including Crysis and any emulator will only utilize the first two cores. So basically, you literally can't run a PS2 or DS emulator on the i7 720QM. So much for performance.

So is anyone willing to clear this up for me?

Both have Turbo (rising the frequency when running heavy applications). So it's basically 3333 vs 2800. The 720QM consumes less power when running non demanding applications.

But most of all the 720QM is a quad with hyper-threading, the other one is a dual core with hyper-threading.

http://ark.intel.com/Product.aspx?id=43122

http://ark.intel.com/Product.aspx?id=43560

I wouldn't OC a laptop CPU, those two are fast enough.

Track

Distinguished
Jul 4, 2006

Oh, so you're suggesting that the Quads were Turbo-boosted to their max single-core preference for those tests?
Can you prove it?
Can you find me tests between the i7-720QM @ 1.6Ghz vs i7-620M @ 2.66Ghz?

P.S. Why are you a Veteran when you've been here since earlier this year and I have been here for 40 years?