Sign in with
Your question

Error!!

Last response: in Systems
July 13, 2010 9:48:33 PM

Hi, i just recently bought a computer on eBay, i could not resist it. The price on that computer was excellent. The parts alone in this computer was worth more than what i bought it for. When i opened everything, the computer seemed very new and all the parts were clearly new. The seller said that he custom built this computer, thus the reason why i posted this on this section. Anyways on to the important stuff. I just got the computer today and i found an error while trying to power on this computer. When i turned it on it said "CPU Over Temperature Error" and it would just shut itself down. I did do some research on this before i even try to post this error on this forum, after i read a few topics on cpu over temperature error's, i've come to conclude that it was because the Heat sink fan did not connected well with the CPU thus the overheating. So here's my problem, i am not a professional computer building nor do i know much about Heat sink fans or thermal pads. I do not want to harm this computer so i am too scared to continue turning on this computer (risking chances of burning the CPU) to check it. Is there a safe way to turn on the computer without it overheating? For example going to the bios and checking the temperatures-will does this overheat the cpu? Will turning the computer on while it has this error harm the computer in anyway? Will the CPU eventually burn if i keep turning it on or will the motherboard continue to shut down the computer so that the cpu will never burn itself and brake? i think the seller i bought this computer from used cheap thermal pads so i just need a little help from you guys on what i should do? Should i bring it to a computer store just to ask them to fix it and do everything for me. I do have a lot of confidence in myself i just need a little guide on what i should do first just to make sure that the computer will not be harmed (for exam