Rookie seeks thoughts/advice on first-time build: >$1,500 gaming rig

G

Hello everyone,

After 5 years culminating in some actually pretty good performance on Crysis, my Dell 8300 desktop finally stopped being able to run the latest games (the bottleneck being the single core P4 3ghz CPU).

After a lot of thought, I've decided to build my own rig in the hopes of getting the best specs on a price of >$1,500. I'm kinda nervous about doing so since it's my first build and I can't really afford to purchase replacement components if I fry one on the first go, but Dell's prices are overinflated and their quality is FAR from what they used to be, and while IBuyPower offers some good rigs at surprisingly good prices (nearly on par with a homebuilt with Newegg components), I've heard mixed reviews about their workmanship and quality.

I have some do-it-yourself experience; a couple years ago I upgraded my Dell 8300 with a new GPU (the last of the AGPs), added in a couple bars of RAM and a second hard drive, and swapped the power supply for a stronger model. I managed this without frying anything and got good performance with no issues right up until about last year when games requiring duel-core CPUs started showing up. However, I've never installed a motherboard or CPU before, but have seen instructional videos on youtube that seem to be a good guide to doing so.

Anyway, my proposed rig is:

CPU: Intel i7-930 2.8ghz LGA 1366 - $290

GPU: XFX Radeon HD 5850 - $295 (going with XFX due to their lifetime warranty)

Motherboard: ASUS P6T LGA 1366 X58 - $200 (or Gigabyte GA-X58A-UD3R for $210)

RAM: Corsair XMS3 6gb DDR3 1600 - $155

Hard Drive: Western Digital Caviar Black 1.5TB 7200rpm w/ 64mb cache - $110

Power Supply: Kingwin Lazer 1000w - $160 (best rated value for money 1000w unit I could find)

Soundcard: Creative Soundblaster X-Fi Titanium Fatality Pro - $110

Case: NZXT Tempest Evo ATX Mid-Tower - $90 (large and hopefully roomy for a mid-tower, with 5 case fans)