I've been out of the hardware game too long, Help.

bfunk_nme

Distinguished
Jul 14, 2010
Good day everyone,

I am looking at building a new gaming/VM running/storage/media rig. The problem is the last PC I built was a few years ago and lots of things have changed since then.

I work in IT, mainly server side and have been building enterprise class servers for a few years now, however, I can not tell you jack about intels new desktop processors or AMDs. No more knowledge about the latest ram, video cards and storage have stayed relatively the same, but I just would like to get some feedback from the community, what are you guys seeing as the best of the best, do I go Intel or AMD? What do I need to look at as far as RAM goes? SATA or is there something faster in a desktop machine? What graphics cards are good right now? Any new sockets come out?

banthracis

Distinguished
Fill out the form in sticky, link in my sig.

In general best bang for buck gaming at:

$800 Phenom II x4 and gtx 460

$900 Phenom IIx4 and 5850

$1k is phenom II x4 955 and 5870.

@$1.2k i5-750 and 5870.

@$1,500 phenom II x4 and 5970

@$1,600 i5-750 and 5970

@$1,800 i7-930 and 5970

Sli and xfire builds and deals will alter that a bit, but in general that's how it breaks down. I personally don't recommend multi GPU setups off the bat as it prevents future expansion. Also xfire/sli scaling varies so much btwn games that unless game you play has been tested, it's hard to know how much benefit you'll get.

Since this is extremely vague, I'll try breifly answering some of the questions. Hopefully by then you can find the guidelines (here's a hint: they're in the link in my signature), and we can help you with the actual parts.