darkgauntlett

Distinguished
Jul 14, 2010
This is my first time building a pc. I have never installed a stick of Ram or seen an uninstalled processor. I've held a bare HDD only because I hacked my ps2 6 years ago. I've never claimed to know anything about computers. Feel free to laugh if i say anything stupid below. I've done a few hours worth of research but would like to make sure i'm buying the right parts. Figured the experts on these forums, who accounted as part of my research, could help. Here's my request based on the awesome template I found.

Purchase Date- August 5th
Budget - $1200 (give or take)

System Usage- Gaming, novice video editing, and average PC usage(word, excel, powerpoint)

PREFERRED WEBSITE(S) FOR PARTS: I've found Amazon & Newegg have the best prices. Neither one is 100% cheaper than the other. I'm into w/e works best and work minutes away from a tiger direct retail store.

PARTS PREFERENCES: Hear lots of good things about Intel's Core I5 and the ATI video cards.

OVERCLOCKING: Yes

MONITOR RESOLUTION: Native resolution 1080p- Monitor is not included in stated budget.

I'm liking the Rose Black line from Samsung. I'm going with a red glow for all of my equipment. G110 keyboard and not sure which mouse. Although not included in template, I would like suggestions. The wife would like it to resonate with the decor and red works. (how sad my life is)

I have a list of parts/products already selected and would like review/advice.

OS Windows 7 Home Prem. 64b
CPU Intel Core I5 750
Case CM Haf 922

MoBo ASUS P7P55D-E Pro
P7P55D-E Pro

Fan CM 200mm Red LED-
The Fan

PSU Corsair CMPSU-750HX 750-Watt
GPU Gigabyte HD 5830 1GB
PSU and Video Card

Ram G.SKILL Ripjaws Series 4GB (2 x 2GB)
G.SKILL Ram

HDD WD Caviar Black 1TB 64mb 7200rpm Sata3
1.5tb Caviar Black

OD Lite-on iHAS424-98
DVD Burner