EggWhite50

Distinguished
Jul 15, 2010
I am an independent designer of Retail Displays using SketchUP and AutoCAD. My current machine is a HP DC7900 Quad Core 2, Q8200@2.33Ghz 1.98 GHz, 3.24 GB RAM is boggin down. I have $2,000 to spend for the CPU and Graphic cards. I would appreciate your suggestions of what to purchase. This is for 3-D rendering only, I do not do any gaming.
Thanks

EggWhite50

Distinguished
Jul 15, 2010

I forgot to share the graphic card I'm currently using
ATI FireGL V3600 256MB PCI Express x 16 Workstation Video Card

Pyroflea

Distinguished
Mar 18, 2007
As far as I understand, 3D rendering is heavily CPU intensive, and doesn't really require GPU power at all. As I'm sure you've noticed, it always uses a helluva lot of RAM :D

As you haven't given any guidelines (please view this thread, reference for next time: http://www.tomshardware.com/forum/261222-31-build-advice ), I'll just tell you what you'll most likely want to look for.

CPU: Quad- or Six-Core. Intel makes very nice quad cores (Core i7 series), while AMD makes some nice budget-oriented Quad cores as well; AMD makes very affordable Six-core processors as well. The choice is yours!

RAM: Lotsa, lotsa RAM! I'd go for at least 6GB-8GB, maybe more depending on how large these renders are gonna be. Again, you'll have to make the call.

Motherboard: Not overly important. As long as it has the appropriate CPU socket, and has the features you want/need, it's good to go. I usually pick motherboards mostly by ratings.

Video Card: As I mentioned, not overly important. Something cheap and simple will be fine, just for connecting your monitor, and displaying these lovely renderings.

Hard Drives: You'll probably want something that's fairly fast (Western Caviar Black or similar). You may even consider a RAID0 setup for even faster speeds, or even and SSD for the OS/Program drive.