Internet explorer crashing

grumpp

Distinguished
Aug 7, 2010
Let's start out by saying I'm a noob at this. I recently built a new system. Something to play around. I have an Asrock 890fx Deluxe 3 MB ( 1.40 bios) and a Phenom II x2 555. I have no problems unlocking it to a b55 x4. I ran prime95 for 4 hours with no problems. The problem I have is that Internet explorer keeps crashing when I'm running with the cores unlocked. any ideas would be appreciated.

I noticed similar symptoms when overclocking my i3, so I stopped. I would simply try explorer without the extra cores. It's a gimmick frankly to depend on unlocking cores when you can buy a regular propus or phenom II for only a few dollars more. You can also try firefox, but I found it to be less secure and have fewer features than explorer 8.0.

grumpp

Distinguished
Aug 7, 2010
I tried running Foxfire and the flash player keeps crashing (with the cores unlocked). I'm tempted to flash the bios with the newest version to see if that might help (probably not). The system is brand new and it screams compared to my old one. If I could just figure this problem out I would be totally happy with it. I knew when I got the PII 555 that unlocking wasn't a sure thing, but it's stable in prime95.

blackhawk1928

Distinguished
every version of IE after 6.5 is total crap..!
6.5 got props but I do not know who took over development after that but,
they dropped the ball and focused in compatibility with other Microsoft software only,
all other functionality went to pot.
every single version freezes or craps out and give the report error to microsoft crap.
just sucks.
I use firefox and then I have a copy of opera for back-up.

Internet Explorer 9 alpha or beta (not sure) came out and is available for download, should be released within some months :) We'll see what MS's new browser can do!

grumpp

Distinguished
Aug 7, 2010