Can't boot past Post

icester1973

Distinguished
Jul 16, 2010
My homebuilt will not boot past the Post screen - not even into the BIOS. It Posts just fine - all the drives are recognized. The quick check on the RAM is OK. No beeps. Everything just like it should be. However, when I hit 'Del' to enter the BIOS, the screen just turns black.

Just letting the computer Post and then trying to boot the OS, it gets past the Post then gives a 'No Video Signal' and then reboots continuously.

Using the on-board video, I can get into the BIOS, but all other behavior is the same (can't boot the OS).

This is not a new build. I've been running this system for several years without any major problems (only the intermittent Gigabyte boot problems). Several days ago, when I got up in the morning, the computer was frozen and would not reboot (symptoms as described above).

My setup:
MB: Gigabyte 965P-DS3 (also tried a Gigabyte GA-G41M-ES2L)
PS: Antec 520W TruPower
CPU: Intel E2160 @ 1.8GHz (o/c'ed to 3.15GHz at stock voltage)
CPU Cooling: Noctua NC-12 (the big boy)
RAM: Patriot DDR2 800 Mhz (2 x 2GB)
HD: SATA 750GB Seagate
Video: Radeon 5770 (also tried Intel GMA on-board)
Optical: Asus & Pioneer DVRs (both SATA)

Things I've tried:
- "Safe" BIOS settings
- Changed motherboards - same symptoms
- New motherboard had on-board video - same symptoms
- Switched from Rosewill 550W to the brand-new Antec 520W PS - same symptoms
- Tried all configurations of RAM: single stick in all 4 sockets - same symptoms everytime
- Unplugged all drives (HD and optical), all and one-at-a-time - same symptoms

I've only been able to get an OS to boot (USB-HD) once - by unplugging the SATA HD. Everything else was "normal." I figured it has to be a bad harddrive, but I get the same behavior with another (known good) harddrive.

I'm begging for help. I've been building my own PCs for over 15 years and this is the first time that I am completely baffled!

icester1973

Distinguished
Jul 16, 2010