Sign in with
Your question
Solved

Help selecting a 1k gaming desktop

Last response: in Systems
July 16, 2010 3:46:36 PM

I'm in the market for a $1000 ballpark desktop for casual gaming (mainly Blizzard titles, Civ V when that comes out) that I intend to keep for a while (3+ years). I have nothing reusable for this computer other than mouse and keyboard, so I need everything if I were to build it. I've never built before, but I've heard it is cheaper/fun/empowering.

I put together a wishlist on newegg built around an i5 750 and a Radeon HD 5770 (the CoolerMaster Hyper TX3 is just a placeholder for a Hyper 212 Plus off Amazon for the same price). I don't really need a 650W PSU, but it's actually cheaper than getting Corsair's 550W PSU because of the money I save on comboing it with the 5770. With tax and shipping, minus rebates and the money I save on combos, the whole package clocks in at a few dollars over $1000. I may be able to get my hands on a free copy of Win 7 (legit! my friend may have a spare and I have a birthday incoming), but if not, I'd have to pay an additional $100 for an OEM copy, pushing me 10% over budget.

However, I played around on HP's website, and I can get a Pavilion Elite using the same CPU and graphics card, same size monitor, bigger HDD, and Windows 7 (along with sundry software) included for a grand total of $1070. I am having a hard time reconciling this with the conventional wisdom that BYO is substantially cheaper than buying a prebuilt from a major vendor. Should I really go to the trouble of building my own computer from the ground up when I can get a seemingly identical prebuilt for essentially the same price? If so, why?

Best solution

a b 4 Gaming
July 16, 2010 4:02:02 PM

I like the original build more, as i5 750s are very solid and clock for clock outdo AMD Phenom X4 955. However, batuchka does have a solid gaming build there.