konk

Distinguished
Jul 16, 2010
Hey everyone,

I've been lurking around these forums reading up on various PC knowledge and as I'm currently in the process of upgrading my machine I have decided that its time to learn how to put one of these things together without having to wait for people/pay extra money to get it done.

To give you a brief background, I'm currently a student of Architecture in Australia and bascially 32-bit computing is starting to hold my work back as I work with CAD/3d modelling programs very frequently as well as Adobe software for image editing.

Ive been researching and its time for me to move onto a 64-bit windows as it seems the issues have mostly been ironed out and I also need the extra memory and RAM as the work I do requires so.

I also am the odd gamer with football (well soccer for most of you lot here :)) games so I'm after something that is cost efficient for quality parts to last me the next 2-3 years.

The budget I've got in mind is around maximum $AUD1500.

The parts I've been looking at or would like to have are;

- Intel i7 series processor - Not too sure on which one is best suited, i was possibly looking at the 880/960/970 and I'm aware they cost significantly more than the i5 counter parts which have similar features but that's why I'm here to find out!

- Gigabyte P55-USB3 motherboard - will that be sufficient? or are there better ones out there?

- I'm after ~2 TB HDD - Not sure which brand is the best way to go.

- Nvidia Graphics card - Ive been told the GT 250+ are the best way to go for cost/quality? The programs I use require 1GB in the graphics card.

- Blu-ray drives - I guess again, the most value for money as I'm unaware of whats out there.

- The case I will need extra venitlation and cooling obviously so any recommendations?

- PSU Ive been told will need to be of at least 650w power.

- ~ 8-10GB of DDR3 RAM (the CAD programs I use have it as a min. requirement for 8 but I always like to go a bit more)