Sign in with
Your question

Updating DVD driver

Last response: in Storage
September 19, 2012 2:20:10 PM

Hi,

I am not an expert on PCs. It seems that you can download all drivers except CD/DVD drivers. Can you update driver software for a Blu-Ray Drive? Why or Why not?

I have a Optiarc BD ROM 5500 S ATA drive which came with HP G70 120 It has been disturbing recently. Sometimes it reads the disc, other times it says there is no disc. Reading takes a lot of time too. I believe the problem is with the driver, not the firmware.

I searched the net, but I couldnt find a driver for the drive for windows 7. Went to HP, couldnt find a driver for the optical drive.

Can anyone tell me where can I find one?

More about : updating dvd driver

a b G Storage
September 19, 2012 2:32:57 PM

maybe a "head" cleaning. maybe on it's last legs.
m
l
September 20, 2012 2:46:04 PM

swifty_morgan said:
maybe a "head" cleaning. maybe on it's last legs.

I am no computer expert but I tried cleaning it the best I could. And I havent used it at all: just burned 4-5 discs over the year and read about 15 DVDs thats it.
What about drivers, may they be a cause of the problem?
m
l
Related resources
a b G Storage
September 20, 2012 2:51:48 PM

search by drive if you can. device manager should tell you who made it and what the model number is. but no, they are pretty much generic. I can't update my drivers either.

you can go into the device manager and uninstall it. reboot. let windows re-find it and reinstall drivers for it.

sometimes I come across an odd dvd or cd I can't read.......... but put it in a different machine or the machine/drive it was burned on and it works perfectly.
m
l
September 20, 2012 4:17:25 PM

swifty_morgan said:
search by drive if you can. device manager should tell you who made it and what the model number is. but no, they are pretty much generic. I can't update my drivers either.