Sign in with
Your question

Can i use an ssd for my o/s and an ssd for storage?

Last response: in Storage
September 21, 2012 3:13:41 PM

I am a complete rookie. First time build, and have minimal knowledge of computers. I am learning as I research and I am currently researching SSD's compared to HDDs. Forgive me if this is just a stupid question, but do i need an hdd? Can i just use two separate SSD's? One for my O/S and one for storage? If it is possible, what are the pros and cons for going only ssd? Lastily, if i can use two ssds, do I need to do anything specific to install these seperate.

Thanks to anyone that can post something and help me achieve a first time successfull build.

More about : ssd ssd storage

a c 91 G Storage
September 21, 2012 3:28:59 PM

^+1, but you pay a lot more for the ssd. This is why many people use a SSD for the OS and a HDD for data.
m
l
Related resources
September 21, 2012 3:29:34 PM

Yes you can, but don't think about getting rid of that old HDD entirely, if you have space to keep em installed you can install your OS on one ssd, the programs you use the most on the other ssd and all other large not neccesary files on to the HDD. Or if you want to make your two ssd's into a RAID array (Redundant Array of Inexpensive Drives) by setting them up on RAID 0 they can be even faster, but RAID 0 isn't very reliable, if one of the two drives fail all data is lost, essentially two drives are setup to act as one. Hope this helped.
m
l
September 21, 2012 3:35:09 PM

agentfood01 said: