MiGoreng

Distinguished
Jul 13, 2010
Hello all you audio gurus, I would highly appreciate some feedback on my issue.

First off, I'm not that technical when it comes to computers but I did build my own PC this past July from the ground up if that accounts for anything. Here are my Specs:

Biostar T5XE CFX-SLI
i5 750
4GB DDR3
EVGA GTX460 SC
OCZ Vertex 2E 64GB SSD
OCZ modxstream 700w
Win 7 64bit
I use a dual monitor setup (23" monitor and 37" HDTV)

The motherboard has built-in 7.1 surround using (Realtek ALC888 8+2 Channel HD Audio) and has 6 audio ports in the rear. http://www.biostar.com.tw/app/en/t-series/content.php?S_ID=445

I'd like to try to use my Samsung 5.1 Home Theatre system but the receiver only has HDMI, Component, Composite, Optical and RCA outputs.

I researched online and found a S/PDIF bracket on ebay http://cgi.ebay.ph/Gigabyte-CB-12CR11SPD-3-Pin-SPDIF-Cable-12CR1-1SPD-/130424171141 that uses a 3-pin in connector and has an optical out connector but also read online that someone with a similar Biostar board bought a similar bracket online and the 3pin connector didn't match up to the one on the board. How do I know if this will fit my mobo?

Also regarding S/PDIF in, I read on TOMS that "Because SPdif can only carry 2.0, and encoded (compressed) 5.1 via Dolby Digital/DTS. Uncompressed 5.1 signals are too large for Spdif to carry. Unless you are passing in a dolby/DTS signal, all you will get is 2.0, unless you use a soundcard to upmix to 5.1." Would my Samsung 5.1 qualify as passing in a dolby/DTS signal or would it still be a 2.0?

My other idea is to try to run everything through my video card as it has 2 DVI outputs and 1 HDMi output. If I used the HDMI out to the receiver, and then got a DVI to HDMI adapter to go from the video card to the HDTV and finally the other DVI to the monitor, would I be able to get 7.1 surround on both the monitor and the HDTV?