Corrupted registry

gorgot

Distinguished
Jan 24, 2010
Hey so I just built my first PC ever, and this is my first time using Windows since the 90s. Obviously when I got it up and running, installed W7, and fired up my first game I was incredibly proud of myself. Well, now there's a problem with what looks like the hard drive. My guess as to what happened is it was caused something to do this Linksys PCI-Adapter I installed. The thing was running super slow and dropping signals. The drivers were only for Vista, no W7 ones yet, so a little Googling found lots of people complaining about this and a possible solution from using a different driver for a similar card. Well I think that's what caused the problem, because after doing that (and still not getting great results) the computer went into system repair the next time I booted. System repair seemed stuck on an endless loop and Safe mode sent it into repair as well. I also tried repair on the installation disk, and system restore (it would freeze at this screen before letting me choose). So I decided to wipe the drive and re-install Windows (after all, the only data on there was drivers, some games and a game save). That still didn't seem to fix the problem and I ran chkdsk and that showed me that the problem was a "bad disk". I let chkdsk /d run all night -- it seemed to be making repairs from its lot -- in the morning it said Windows could not run because of a "corrupted registry." I had to run to work so I haven't had a chance to mess with it (I'm at work now) so my next guess would be to try to reinstall Windows one more time. Is it possible that a single driver screwed up my entire hard drive? (It was a brand new Samsung Spinpoint 1TB). Is this problem solveable or do I need a new HD?

Solution