Do PSU units wear out over time?

AresReborn

Distinguished
Aug 30, 2010
Quick question. I want to run my logic past the computer GOSU'S on this forum. I realize there is no such thing as a "future proof" computer when you go past 2+ years. HOWEVER, would it make sense to invest in a good solid PSU? Or do they wear out over time? I plan on buying an i5-760 with 2x GTX460 in SLI. I'm looking at buying a 850 watt corsair PSU (which I know is over kill). But on the other hand when I upgrade the PSU is one less thing I would need to worry about.

I've never built my own computer before, so I'm trying to do this right. Any input is greatly appreciated, here is the model I'm looking at: http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16817139011

Everything wears out in time. :)

For example, there's a lot of talk about "capacitor aging". I am ambivalent on the subject. Yes, capacitors do age. I am just uncertain about the practical effects. There's simply too much 20, 30, and even 40 year old commercial and military electronic equipment still running within spec today.

Buy good stuff, operate it within conservative limits, and don't worry.

I have a 7 year old 400 watt Antec still running. Now, admittedly, it has spent its life running at less than 50% load. But still, it's 7 years old.

I like Corsairs. I have 5 of them. :)

skimage

Distinguished
Dec 28, 2008