$1k casual gaming build - check it over?

two_eyes

Distinguished
Jul 16, 2010
APPROXIMATE PURCHASE DATE: This week.

BUDGET RANGE: Around $1000.

SYSTEM USAGE FROM MOST TO LEAST IMPORTANT: WoW, Starcraft 2, other casual games (no Crysis here)

OVERCLOCKING: Yes

I am a first time builder finally concluding a multimonth research process and ready to seal the deal. I have already picked out parts. I am posting the parts I believe are optimal for my needs with justification, but I would like to get people's opinions and a general sanity check from the fine folks here.

CPU: Intel Core i5-750
This chip gets lots of awesome reviews. Has a lot of OC capability on air without raising voltages much, and Intel has a clock-for-clock advantage over AMD (or so I've heard). Comboed with case for $20 off.

Motherboard: ASRock P55 Extreme
This mobo gets great reviews all over the Internet for budget overclocking on P55. Comboed with OS for $10 off.

Video card: Gigabyte Radeon HD 5770 - OC @900 MHz
Radeon HD 5770 occupies an ideal price point with great performance. This particular model was chosen on account of an excellent combo with the PSU ($30 off) and the ability to overclock it even a bit further while not being particularly more expensive than the other 5770s on the market.

Monitor: Asus VH242H 23.6" 1920 x 1080
I hear great things about this monitor as being a quality 24" for gaming that doesn't break the bank. While the link goes to Newegg, I'll be purchasing it from TigerDirect ($10 more, but don't have to pay tax and shipping).

Memory: Crucial 2x2GB DDR3 1333
This memory has great reviews from various benchmark/oc sites, including this one. I mostly care about the ability for the memory to provide headroom while I oc the CPU, but if I can get the latency low, that's also great.

PSU: OCZ Fatal1ty 550W