New storage array

krillik

Honorable
Sep 27, 2012
Hello all! I am currently in a pickle. I have never used RAID before and I do not know much about it. I have been looking online and reading a bit about it, but I do not understand fully. Let me give you my specs first:

X6DH8-G2 motherboard
1x 150GB WD Raptor 10krpm (boot)
3Ware AMCC 9550sx-8lp Sata Raid Card with battery backup
3Ware 9550SX-12SI Sata Raid Card
16x 1TB 2.5" drives
4x ICY DOCK MB994SP-4SB-1(storage array)

I am using a full tower case, which is why I am going with the 1TB drives in 2.5".
Now what I was originally planning to do, is make this into a SAN with a fibre channel connection to another computer that sees it as DAS. I think I am straying away from that at the moment and just going to make it into a NAS with the SAN possibility in the future. I am trying to find what RAID I should do. I was thinking about RAID 5 since RAID 6 isnt supported by my controllers I will be getting. I guess I could check with the manufacturer and see if there is a firmware update that lets it do RAID6, but I dont know if that is a possibility or if its hardware limited. I want to get the most storage space possible from this array. This will be a media server for streaming 1080p and 3D content to multiple televisions simultaneously. I was thinking about maybe RAID5 or RAID50. I cant seem to find out if RAID50 would decrease the storage space as opposed to regular RAID5? I know RAID isnt a substitute for backing up but backing up that much data would be horrendous. I thought about doing tape backup but the amount of tapes needed would probably make it cheaper to buy the amount of drives needed for mirroring. Sure the data is not critical, but who wants to have to replace 14tb of data lol. Also, would having a drive like a 2TB WD green drive not in the array for the streaming be a good idea? That way it would decrease the writes needed to the array? I really appreciate everyone's feedback!

*EDIT*