I7 870 temps high? any help

Status
Not open for further replies.

tommyov

Distinguished
May 31, 2010
i had just swaped cpu's tonight and seen that my idle temp went up alot on avr. 50c at load 73c i have it overclocked to 3.8ghz
i am no pro at overclocking so plz tell me what im doing wrong

Solution
The temps and voltages look ok to me I have an i7 860 and at 4ghz I get about the same load temps. The idle temps seem a little high though. You could try re-applying thermal paste and re-seating the block. Also try to overclock from the bios. [:bohleyk:1]

tommyov

Distinguished
May 31, 2010
...i swaped from a i5 660..(which ran great)your going to laugh at me but, i use the gigabyte overclocking tool and then go in and play with the base clock till i see temps i like. i dont go far with it +-.i never play with the volts as i dont know what im doing. i think that the volts are on that screen shot. if you need more info ill get it. and the ram thats another question. in the intel performance tool i used to get a 5.9 score in the ram but when i over clocked the base to 159 i got a 7.2 ram score.. dont get that

Snowbum

Distinguished
Jul 3, 2009
Everything sounds normal.

The 870 is a hotter chip then the 660. It uses more power and has a larger cache, so it is going to run alittle bit hotter. 73c at load sounds about right for the base and voltage that you have it at.

d1rtyju1c3

Distinguished
Sep 1, 2010
The temps and voltages look ok to me I have an i7 860 and at 4ghz I get about the same load temps. The idle temps seem a little high though. You could try re-applying thermal paste and re-seating the block. Also try to overclock from the bios. [:bohleyk:1]

Solution

tommyov

Distinguished
May 31, 2010
i do use the bios to tune it i just dont mess with the voltages as i dont know what im doing there i think it has something to do with that i dont have the right volt..could under volting it be the prob?