namix

Distinguished
Jul 21, 2010
Here my comp
Mb: Asus Rampage 2 gene - Republic of Gamers
Cpu: i7 920 2,6 ghz
Video card: Asus EAH 5970
ram: 6 giga(3 block of 2 giga) kingstom ddr3 1660 mghz

I ordered from an online store this pieces of comp and they built it for me (hardware parts) , after i come home i installed window 7 64 bit , motherboard, video card driver.. the usual stuff, i am not a super expert, but i know how to install drivers and make a computer working......
This happened 2 days ago. At the start everything seems fine, probo 2, tuneup, smart doctor, norton antivirus all say everything is fine and temperatures are under the alarm level. But after 1 day suddenly started the problem, monitor just turn off, say no video signal, and i cant do anything about it, beside reboot, at the start the problem was happen rarely, once when starting window 7 or after 3-4 hours using comp, but now take me like 2-3 times just for boot to window7 and even when i enter happen again every 2-3 minutes i am on the desktop, make basically impossible to do anything.

few things i did was:

- put sleep mode for both computer and monitor to "never"
- reinstall window 7, nothing, monitor lost signal once, even during the few restart computer does for finish window 7 installation O_O
- run antivirus, tune up, smart doctor, every program could help me find a problem, nothing computer seems perfectly fine, no conflict, all drivers installed, "k" temperatures.

Things i cant do, open case (i will lose warranty), so i cant check motherboard, ram or the grafic card.

i dunno if can be usefull for help, but i am using a TV as monitor, and i connect it with an HDMI cable with an adaptor for connect it to the video card (both the one on my new comp and the one on the old comp (old one is a gf 9800) do not have HDMI connector)

Thats all if someone can help me would be really fine!

kio54

Distinguished
Jun 10, 2010
it sounds like a driver error for the hdmi output