Sign in with
Your question
Closed

Upgrading my PC, could use some advice.

Last response: in Components
September 22, 2010 2:41:22 PM

Hello, I'm going to be upgrading my PC soon, and I could really use some advice. Some info: I shooting for a medium to medium-high system. I'm trying to keep each buy at under $200 unless the cost can be justified.
My needs: semi- hardcore gamer, heavy web browsing with tons of open tabs, spreadsheets, writing (I'm a writer), occasional CD ripping, watching TV shows from USB. And I don't overclock.

Current configuration:
Core2Duo
4 GB DDR3 1333 MHz (plan to keep)
Nvidia NX8800 GT 512 MB
2 x 500 GB SATA hard drives (plan to keep one)
X-Fi soundcard (PCI) (plan to keep)
550 watts PSU (plan to keep)

Here are my plans:

1) I want to upgrade my CPU and am looking at the Phenom II. I've read that it should fit my needs, and I just wanted to validate that.

2) Due to the CPU change, I'm also going to need a mobo. My needs are simple: AM3 socket, 4 SATA, on-board network, takes DDR3. Not interested in RAID or overclocking or running two video cards. Given this, I think pretty much any board will fit my needs. Are there any recommendations for chipset or brand to look for?

3) Also planning to upgrade my vid card to a Radeon HD 5670. Is there another card that I'm overlooking which will give me more bang for my buck?

4) I want to replace one of my hard drives with a small (30-40 GB) SSD drive. That would be my boot drive, all my data and other programs would run off my second drive. Any drives to suggest?

5) Can my PSU keep up with what I want to put in my PC?

6) Last two questions: I'm planning to keep my memory and sound card to minimize cost. is there any value in upgrading to faster memory (1600) or a PCI-E sound card?

Sorry for the long post. Please, any opinions, suggestion and flames would be greatly appreciated.

More about : upgrading advice

Best solution

September 22, 2010 3:54:39 PM