Sign in with
Your question

I5 430M vs i3 330 vs Turion II M520

Last response: in CPUs
September 22, 2010 4:30:01 PM

I'm in the process of buying my first laptop and just like everything I do, I want to make so I make the right choice. I've read, re-read, researched and more, but i'm still not convinced what that right choice is?

These are the three laptops I'm torn between;

Toshiba Satellite L650-12P (Core i5 430M, 2GB DDR3, Mobile Intel GMA HD) £424

HP Pavilion dv6-2112sa (Turion II M520 Processor, 4GB DDR2, ATI Radeon HD 4200) £430

Acer Aspire 5741 (Core i3 330M, 4GB DDR3, Mobile Intel GMA HD) £448

The price differences are pretty negligible, so that's one problem out of the equation. I've no experience of how the components will work together. For instance;

Will the 2GB DDR3 RAM restrict the i5 processor?
Will I notice the difference between 4GB of DDR2 and 3GB of DDR3?
Will the M520 perform better than the Core i-series because of the separate gpu?

These are questions I don't know the answer to and I welcome any advice you can give me to help me reach the best decision.

More about : 430m 330 turion m520

a c 131 à CPUs
September 22, 2010 4:48:39 PM

Those aren't the questions you should be asking.

Tell us what you are going to use the computer for, then we will be able to tell you which one is better for you.

The Toshiba sports the fastest processor, but will be limited for anything that uses GPU acceleration. It is also limited in ram, which may or may not impede you depending on what you do.

The acer is limited in GPU but 3GB is enough for most things.

The acer is best at ram and GPU but the CPU is the least powerful.
September 22, 2010 4:59:23 PM

Nice points Enzo, thank you.

I'll be using the laptop for web browsing, burning and writing DVDs, photoshop, MS Office applications, playing music, watching movies/DVDs
Related resources
a c 131 à CPUs
September 22, 2010 6:05:06 PM