• New Build
  • Components
  • Systems
  • Product
Last response: in Systems
July 22, 2010 5:29:53 PM

Hi All,

First off, this is a wonderful forum.

This is my first time pricing and building a custom PC. I have read quite a bit and believe I have picked components that will meet my goal. My goal is to build a machine that will last a LONG time, one that I can upgrade freely if necessary, and one that will support gaming and high quality video. I have never truly owned a great PC.

I would like advice on the following components. Mostly, I'd like to know if I'm going overboard on some things and if the components are compatible. Grand total for this is $2000 at Newegg, which is quite a bit for me, so I will probably end up buying the components over the next 6-9 months.

ASUS P6X58D
i7 930
G.SKILL PI 6GB
CORSAIR CMPSU 750TX
SAPPHIRE VAPOR-X RADEON HD 5870
WESTERN DIGITAL 1TB 7200RPM SATA 6Gb/s
ASUS 24X DVD BURNER
ACER 23" HDMI LCD MONITOR
COOLER MASTER HYPER 212 CPU COOLER

Also, other than Win 7, mouse, keyboard, and speakers, is there anything else I would need?

More about : custom build

July 22, 2010 8:02:41 PM
Related resources
July 22, 2010 8:09:01 PM

Hoshos that was a very helpful reply, and I might even skip the HDD altogether for now and just use the 80GB to start.

Basically, I have about $1000 cash I can blow, and can probably get everything else one at a time. :sol: 
July 22, 2010 8:16:36 PM

thanks have fun building
July 22, 2010 8:20:12 PM

If you are not able to get all the parts at the current time, you may end up with a more successful build and be more happy by just putting the money aside till you can purchase everything practically at once.

Those are good parts now, but 6-9 months from now is a long time in the hardware world!
July 22, 2010 8:33:18 PM

I would select Best Answer if I could, but I don't think it will work here as I picked "discussion", or at least I can't seem to find the option to.
July 22, 2010 8:34:42 PM